Outstanding Poster Award

An Outstanding Poster Award has been given at the 11th EMS / 10th ECAM in Berlin.

Two posters were selected:

EMS2011-95: K. Hocke, S.C. Studer, N. Kämpfer, O. Stähli, and E. Maillard
"Diurnal variations in surface air pressure, integrated water vapour, and stratospheric ozone"


EMS2011-697: A. Bossavy, R. Girard, and G. Kariniotakis
"A Probabilistic Approach to Forecast Ramps of Wind Power Production using Ensemble"

The poster EMS2011-451: Y. Tsubota
"Solar-Energy Education: Making a Miniature Solar Oven" deserves special mention for a very instructive method on education.

A Select Committee has been established; members are:

  • Renate Hagedorn, DWD, Germany
  • Sylvain Joffre, FMI, Finland
  • Elisabeth Koch, ZAMG, Austria
  • Martin Piringer, ZAMG, Austria
  • Anna Maria Sempreviva, ISAC-CNR, Italy

The selection criteria for the award are based on the following criteria:

  • Scientific quality;
  • Innovativeness of the approach;
  • Potential impacts of the results;
  • Visual aspect, attractiveness;
  • Clarity/fluency to have the message through to the readers.

All poster presenters are asked to put their posters onto the boards on Monday (or as early as possible after their arrival at the venue), and the select committee will screen all posters present along the specified criteria. The selected poster(s) and author(s) will be announced on Thursday, 15 September 2011 at the start of the poster session (16:00). The author(s) will receive a certificate, one registration fee waiver for the EMS&ECAC 2012 in Łódź, and the poster(s) will be highlighted on the EMS website as example of Best Practice.