Opening Ceremony Programme (Preliminary Programme)

Opening Session, 12 September 2011


Profiles of  Speakers

09:00 – 10:00 Welcome Addresses, Awards Ceremony

Fritz Neuwirth, EMS President
Gerhard Adrian, Präsident Deutscher Wetterdienst
Helmut Mayer, DMG President
Uwe Ulbrich, Institut für Meteorologie, FU Berlin
Dennis Schulze, PRIMET
Aryan van Engelen, ECSN
Ben Dieterink, HMEI
Jonathan T. Malay, AMS President

Awards Ceremony

Hans Reiff: Harry Otten Prize for Innovation in Meteorology

10:00 – 10:45 Coffee Break & Press Conference

10:45 – 12:45 Strategic Lectures

Chair: Fritz Neuwirth

Michel Jarraud, Secretary-General  WMO (Presentation, PDF, 10 MB)
"Erecting a truly global framework for climate services: the challenges to European Meteorology"

Laura Ferranti, ECMWF
"The evolution of ensemble forecasting: methods and products at ECMWF"

Susanne Theis, DWD (Presentation, PDF, 1.9 MB)
"Limited-area ensembles - finer grids & shorter lead times"

Silvio Tschudi, Head Cat Research & Development, Allianz Re (Presentation, PDF, 736 KB)
"A changing risk landscape - how can we quantify?"

12:45 Closing