EGU General Assembly 2008
Session Programme Meeting Programme Personal Programme Search
 
  Planetary & Solar System Sciences - Papers of Special Interest as Identified by Session/Event Organizers


Area A: Papers which might be of interest for science writers, for public information officers and for the press media and for the Newsletter of the Union

Please, click Abstract Number to find the corresponding abstract as PDF file; if necessary, download Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 first to open the file.

 
IS51 - PS2.2/BG7.4: Astrobiology, Mars and robotic exploration (co-organized by BG & PS)
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-04364 oral (15 min) - Thomas-Keprta, K. L.; Clemett, S. J.; McKay, D. S.; Gibson, E. K.; Wentworth, S. J.; FEI Corporation, FEI
Reevaluation of the "Life-on-Mars" Hypothesis: Origin of ALH84001 Carbonate-Magnetite Assemblages
Kathie Thomas-Keprta, kthomas@ems.jsc.nasa.gov
 
PS2.1: Exploring the Solar System - Missions and Techniques
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-05213 oral solicited (15 min) - Chassefiere, E.; THE EVE TEAM
European Venus Explorer : an in-situ mission to Venus using a balloon platform
Eric Chassefiere, eric.chassefiere@aero.jussieu.fr
EGU2008-A-08944 oral solicited (30 min) - Lebreton, J.-P.
In Situ Exploration of Titan: Lessons Learned From Huygens
Jean-Pierre Lebreton, jean-pierre.lebreton@esa.int
 
PS3.1: Mercury
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-07745 oral solicited (30 min) - Sprague, A.L.
Mercury: A Review of Observed Characteristics and Formation Possibilities
Ann L. Sprague, SPRAGUE@LPL.ARIZONA.EDU
EGU2008-A-09183 oral solicited (30 min) - Solomon, S. C.; McNutt Jr., R. L.; Bedini, P. D.; Finnegan, E. J.; the MESSENGER Team
MESSENGERís First Mercury Flyby: An Overview of Observations
Sean C. Solomon, scs@dtm.ciw.edu
EGU2008-A-12196 oral (15 min) - Benkhoff, J
BepiColombo- A mission to explore Mercury
Johannes Benkhoff, Johannes.Benkhoff@esa.int
 
PS3.2: Mars Science & Exploration
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-04516 oral (15 min) - Safaeinili, A; Plaut, J; Holt, J; Phillips, R; Gim, Y; Orosei, R; Biccari, D; Seu, R; Picardi, G
Recent results from MARSIS and SHARAD radar sounders
ALI SAFAEINILI, ali.safaeinili@jpl.nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-04863 oral (15 min) - Atreya, S.; Delory, G.; Encrenaz, T.; Formisano, V.; Farrell, W.; Mahaffy, P.; Mumma, M.; Renno, N.
Martian methane: faster destruction, bigger source
Sushil K. Atreya, atreya@umich.edu
EGU2008-A-06378 oral (15 min) - Chicarro, A. F.
Mars-NEXT – A future step in the European exploration of Mars
Agustin Chicarro, agustin.chicarro@esa.int
 
PS3.3: Venus Express: two years in orbit
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-05343 oral solicited (15 min) - Taylor, FW
The Climate on Venus: Insights from Venus Express
Fred W. Taylor, f.taylor@physics.ox.ac.uk
EGU2008-A-08349 oral solicited (30 min) - Piccioni, G. ; Drossart, P.; the VIRTIS-Venus Express team
Observations by VIRTIS on Venus Express
giuseppe piccioni, giuseppe.piccioni@iasf-roma.inaf.it
EGU2008-A-11014 oral solicited (15 min) - Barabash, S.; Sauvaud, J.-A.; Fedorov, A. ; ASPERA-4
Review of the results from Analyzer of Space Plasmas and Energetic Atoms ASPERA-4 onboard Venus Express
Stas Barabash, stas@irf.se
EGU2008-A-12301 oral solicited (15 min) - Bertaux, J.-L.
Overview of the SPICAV/SOIR results in the context of dynamics and chemistry of the Venus atmosphere
Jean-Loup Bertaux, bertaux@aerov.jussieu.fr
EGU2008-A-12303 oral solicited (30 min) - Svedhem, H.; Titov, D. ; Witasse, O.
Status and scientific highlights of the Venus Express mission
HŚkan Svedhem, hsvedhem@rssd.esa.int
 
PS3.4: Lunar science and exploration
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-01969 oral solicited (15 min) - Kato, M.; Takizawa, Y. ; Sasaki, S.
Present status of Kaguya( SELENE) mission and science goals
Manabu Kato, kato@planeta.sci.isas.jaxa.jp
EGU2008-A-03423 oral solicited (15 min) - Koschny, D.; Crawford, I.; Houdou, B.; Kempf, S.; Lognonne, P.; Pradier, A.; Ricci, C.; Vaujour, P.-D.
Science goals of MoonNEXT, an ESA study to put a lander on the Moon
Detlef Koschny, detlef.koschny@esa.int
EGU2008-A-03809 oral solicited (15 min) - Jaumann, R.; LEO Team
Lunar Exploration Orbiter LEO
Ralf Jaumann, ralf.jaumann@dlr.de
EGU2008-A-05562 oral solicited (15 min) - Zuber, M.; Smith, D.; Alkalai, L.; Lehman, D.
The GRAIL gravity mission to the Moon
Maria Zuber, zuber@mit.edu
EGU2008-A-09766 oral (15 min) - Houdou, B.; Pradier, A.; Koschny, D.; Vaujour, P.-D.
MoonNEXT: ESA Phase A Mission Study of a Lunar Lander with In-Situ Science and Mobility
Berengere HOUDOU, Berengere.Houdou@esa.int
EGU2008-A-11165 oral solicited (15 min) - Vondrak, R; The LRO Project Science Working Group
Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter: Mission Overview
John Keller, john.keller@nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-11819 oral (15 min) - Foing, B.H.; Grieger, B.; Koschny, D.; Josset, J.L.; Beauvivre, S.; Ellouzi, M.; Peters, S.; Almeida, M.; Frew, D.; The SMART-1 STWT Team, N.; The SMART-1 STWT Team
Synthesis of SMART-1 lunar results: Science and Exploration
Bernard Foing, Bernard.Foing@esa.int
EGU2008-A-12202 oral (15 min) - Haruyama, J.; Ohtake, M.; Matunaga, T.; Morota, T.; Honda, C.; Torii, M.; Yokota, Y.; Ogawa, Y.; Abe, M.; LISM working group
First Results from LISM on Kaguya
Haruyama Junichi, haruyama.junichi@jaxa.jp
EGU2008-A-12206 oral (15 min) - Foing, B.H.; ILEWG pannel
Perspectives for international lunar exploration
Bernard Foing, Bernard.Foing@esa.int
 
PS4.0: Outer planets and satellites
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-01826 oral solicited (15 min) - Coustenis, A.; CIRS Investigation Team, The; TandEM Consortium, The
Titanís chemical composition from current and future exploration
Athena Coustenis, Athena.Coustenis@obspm.fr
EGU2008-A-02312 oral solicited (15 min) - Encrenaz, Th.; Owen, T.
Jupiter and the Giant Planets
Tobias Owen, tokumura@ifa.hawaii.edu
EGU2008-A-02883 oral solicited (15 min) - Lopes, R.M.; Stofan, E.R.; Wood, C.; Radebaugh, J.; Kirk, R.; Lorenz, R.; Lunine, J.; Wall, S.D.; Mitchell, K.L.; Mitri, G.
New views of Titanís surface geology from the Cassini RADAR
Rosaly Lopes, Rosaly.M.Lopes@jpl.nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-02912 oral solicited (15 min) - Flasar, F. M.; Schinder, P. J.; Marouf, E. A.; Achterberg, R. K.; French, R. G.; McGhee, C. A.; Kliore, A. J.; Rappaport, N. J.
The thermal structure of Titanís atmosphere
F. Michael Flasar, f.m.flasar@nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-02920 oral solicited (15 min) - Waite, J.H.
Titan and Enceladus: Through the Eyes of the Cassini Ion Neutral Mass Spectrometer
J. Hunter Waite, hunter.waite@swri.org
EGU2008-A-03759 oral solicited (15 min) - Jaumann, R.; VIMS Titan Team
Erosion on Titan
Ralf Jaumann, ralf.jaumann@dlr.de
EGU2008-A-04430 oral solicited (15 min) - Davies, A. G.; Matson, D. L.; Castillo, J. C.; Johnson, T. V.; Sotin, C.
Cryolava Emplacement on Titan and Resulting Morphology: Modelling Strategy
Ashley Davies, Ashley.Davies@jpl.nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-04876 oral solicited (15 min) - Atreya, S.K.; Lunine, J.I.; Niemann, H.B.; Wilson, E.H.
Where have Titanís ethane oceans gone?
Sushil K. Atreya, atreya@umich.edu
EGU2008-A-05664 oral solicited (15 min) - West, R
Clouds and Haze on Saturn
Robert West, robert.a.west@jpl.nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-05919 oral solicited (15 min) - Baines, K.; Momary, T.; Roos-Serote, M.; Showman, A.; Atreya, S.; Brown, R.; Buratti, B.; Clark, R.; Nicholson, P.
Saturnís zonal structure at depth: Dimensional characteristics and constraints on temporal variability over 3 years of Cassini/VIMS mapping
Kevin Baines, kbaines@aloha.jpl.nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-05967 oral solicited (15 min) - Khurana, K. K.; Mitchell, D. G.; Arridge, C.S.; Dougherty, M. K.; Russell, C. T.; Paranicas, C.; Krupp, N.
The mystery of rotational signals from Saturnís magnetosphere revealed
Krishan Khurana, kkhurana@igpp.ucla.edu
EGU2008-A-08705 oral solicited (15 min) - Lebreton, J.-P.
Recent Results On Titan From Huygens
Jean-Pierre Lebreton, jean-pierre.lebreton@esa.int
EGU2008-A-08780 oral solicited (15 min) - Sotin, C.; Le Corre, L.; LeMouelic, S.; Barnes, J.W.; Brown, R.H.; Jaumann, R.; Soderblom, J.; Baines, K.; Buratti, B.; Clark, R.
CASSINI/VIMS observations of cryo-volcanic features on Titan: implications for the methane cycle
Christophe Sotin, Christophe.Sotin@univ-nantes.fr
EGU2008-A-10189 poster solicited - Lorenz, R.; Stiles, B.; Kirk, R.; Zebker, H.; Callahan, P.; Radarteam, T.C.
Geophysical Results at Titan from Cassini RADAR : Topography and Spin State Overview
Ralph D. Lorenz, ralph.lorenz@jhuapl.edu
EGU2008-A-10467 poster solicited - Soderblom, J. M.; Barnes, J. W.; Brown , R. H.; Jaumann, R.; Le Mouťlic, S.; Soderblom, L. A.; Sotin, C.; Stephan, K.; The VIMS Team
Investigation into the Origin of a Crater Complex on Titan Observed by Cassini VIMS
Jason Soderblom, jasons@lpl.arizona.edu
EGU2008-A-11071 oral solicited (15 min) - Johnson, T.
Geophysics of icy Saturnian satellites
Torrence Johnson, Torrence.V.Johnson@jpl.nasa.gov
 
PS4.1: Satellites and rings
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-04882 oral solicited (15 min) - Hansen, C.; Esposito, L.; Colwell, J.; Hendrix, A.; Meinke, B.; Stewart, I.
Observations of Enceladus' Plume from Cassini's Ultraviolet Imaging Spectrograph
Candice Hansen, candice.j.hansen@jpl.nasa.gov
EGU2008-A-05224 oral solicited (15 min) - Charnoz, S.; The Cassini Imaging Team, C.
The complex life of Saturn's small satellites at the ring's outer edge
Sebastien Charnoz, charnoz@cea.fr
EGU2008-A-05702 poster solicited - Showalter, M.; Lissauer, J.; French, R.; Hamilton, D.; Nicholson, P.; de Pater, I.
Hubble Observations of the Uranian Ring Plane Crossing
Mark Showalter, mshowalter@seti.org
EGU2008-A-08696 oral solicited (15 min) - Evans, M.W.
Saturn's F ring, building a theory of it's structure
Michael Evans, M.W.Evans@qmul.ac.uk
EGU2008-A-11036 oral solicited (15 min) - Denk, T.; Cassini Imaging Team
Iapetus: Results from the Cassini Imaging Experiment and Notes on the Brightness Dichotomy Enigma
Tilmann Denk, Tilmann.Denk@gmx.de
 
PS6.0: Planetary Plasma Physics
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-05581 oral solicited (15 min) - Krimigis, S; Acuna, M; Andrews, G; Anderson, B; Baker, D; Gloeckler, G; Gold, R; Ho, G; Korth, H; Livi, S; The MESSENGER Team
Overview of plasma, energetic particles, and magnetic fields in MercuryĘs magnetosphere: First results from MESSENGER
Stamatios Krimigis, tom.krimigis@jhuapl.edu
 
PS7: Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer in Planetary Atmospheres
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-06103 oral solicited (30 min) - Crisp, D.
Frontiers in radiative transfer for remote sensing and climate modeling of Venus and Mars
David Crisp, David.Crisp@jpl.nasa.gov



Back to Overview A

 
 
 
 


©2002-2008 Copernicus Systems + Technology GmbH