EGU General Assembly 2008
Session Programme Meeting Programme Personal Programme Search
 
  Atmospheric Sciences - Papers of Special Interest as Identified by Session/Event Organizers


Area A: Papers which might be of interest for science writers, for public information officers and for the press media and for the Newsletter of the Union

Please, click Abstract Number to find the corresponding abstract as PDF file; if necessary, download Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 first to open the file.

 
AS0: Open Session on the Lower, Middle, and Upper Atmosphere
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-02697 oral (15 min) - Flury, TF; MŁller, SM; Hocke, KH; Kšmpfer, NK
Dynamical case study for mesospheric water vapor over the indian ocean- links to the mesospheric jet
Thomas Flury, thomas.flury@iap.unibe.ch
EGU2008-A-06776 poster - Stamminger, A.; Hellmann, H.; Roth, M.; Magnusson, P.; Persson, O.; Pinzer, M.; Page, H.
REXUS/BEXUS - The Swedish-German Rocket and Balloon Programme for European Students
Andreas Stamminger, andreas.stamminger@dlr.de
 
AS1.01: Dynamical Meteorology (General Session)
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-02161 poster - Meier, F.; Knippertz, P.
Dynamics and predictability of heavy precipitation events over West Africa - sensitivity experiments with the global model GME
Florian Meier, meierf@uni-mainz.de
EGU2008-A-02305 poster - Knippertz, P.; Wernli, H.
A Lagrangian Climatology of Moisture Conveyor Belts that Link Tropical Moisture Sources and Precipitation in the Extratropical Northern Hemisphere
Peter Knippertz, knippertz@uni-mainz.de
EGU2008-A-02487 poster - Croci-Maspoli, M.; Davies, H.C.
Key Dynamical Features of the 2005/06 European Winter
Mischa Croci-Maspoli, mischa.croci-maspoli@meteoswiss.ch
EGU2008-A-03140 poster - Renfrew, I.; Moore, G.; KristjŠnsson, J.; ”lafsson, H.; Gray, S.; Petersen, G.
The Greenland flow distortion experiment
Suzanne L. Gray, s.l.gray@rdg.ac.uk
EGU2008-A-05163 poster - Twitchett, A.; Schwierz, C.
UK heavy precipitation events linked to upper-level features
Arwen Twitchett, lecafm@env.leeds.ac.uk
EGU2008-A-06351 oral solicited (15 min) - Marsham, J.
Processes controlling the initiation of convection
John Marsham, jmarsham@env.leeds.ac.uk
EGU2008-A-08980 oral (15 min) - Blechschmidt, A.-M.
A two year climatology of polar low events over the Nordic Seas from satellite remote sensing
Anne-Marlene Blechschmidt, anne.blechschmidt@zmaw.de
EGU2008-A-09559 oral (15 min) - Weidle, F.; Wernli, H.
The Sting Jet Hypothesis: A Case Study with the COSMO-Model
Florian Weidle, fweidle@uni-mainz.de
EGU2008-A-09841 oral (15 min) - Andersson, A.; Lehner, S.; Reppucci, A.
A satellite view on the extratropical transition of a hurricane
Axel Andersson, axel.andersson@zmaw.de
EGU2008-A-10883 oral (15 min) - Grubisic, V. ; Haimov, S. ; Billings, B. ; French, J. ; Oolman, L.
Insights into the structure of atmospheric rotors
Vanda Grubisic, grubisic@dri.edu
EGU2008-A-10932 poster - Billings, B. ; Grubisic, V.
Interaction of mountain lee waves with valley flows
Vanda Grubisic, grubisic@dri.edu
EGU2008-A-11558 oral (15 min) - ”lafsson, H.; Petersen, G. N.; KristjŠnsson, J. E.; Renfrew, I.; Moore, G.W.K
The South-Iceland Wake
HARALDUR ”LAFSSON, haraldur68@gmail.com
EGU2008-A-11571 poster - Reuder, J.; Egger, J. ; ”lafsson, H.; THE FLOHOF TEAM
The FLow Over and around HOFsjŲkull (FLOHOF) experiment
HARALDUR ”LAFSSON, haraldur68@gmail.com
 
AS1.02: Numerical Weather Prediction and Data Assimilation (General Session) (including Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal Lecture)
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-01167 oral (15 min) - Raynaud, L.; Berre, L.; Desroziers, G.
Estimation of background-error variances with a small ensemble of forecasts and optimized spatial filtering
Laure RAYNAUD, laure.raynaud@meteo.fr
EGU2008-A-01806 oral (15 min) - Tang, Y.; Clark, P.
Met Office variable resolution NWP model
Yong Ming Tang, yongming.tang@metoffice.gov.uk
EGU2008-A-02156 oral (15 min) - Magnusson, L; Kšllťn, E
Comparison between singular vectors and breeding vectors as initial perturbations for the ECMWF ensemble prediction system
Linus Magnusson, linusm@misu.su.se
EGU2008-A-08626 oral (15 min) - Di Giuseppe, F. ; Marsigli, C.; Elementi, M.; Paccagnella, T.
Flow-dependent error covariance matrix determination with a multi-analysis model-perturbed ensemble forecast system.
Francesca Di Giuseppe, fdigiuseppe@arpa.emr.it
EGU2008-A-10290 poster - Masutani, M; Joint OSSE Team
Progress in Joint OSSEs
Michiko Masutani, michiko.masutani@noaa.gov
 
AS1.03: Observation, Prediction and Verification of Precipitation (General Session)
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-08805 poster - Mirboroon, S; Mashhadi-Hossainali, M; Sharifi, M.A.
Atmospheric water vapor estimation, a comparison between GPS occultation and terrestrial data
Saeed Mirboroon, mirboroon@yahoo.com
EGU2008-A-09068 oral solicited (15 min) - KŁhnlein, M.; Nauss, T. ; Bendix, J.
Retrieval of rainrates from mid-latitude cloud systems using multispectral satellite data
Thomas Nauss, nauss@lcrs.de
EGU2008-A-10224 oral (15 min) - Anagnostou, M. N.; Tarolli, M.; Kalogiros , J.; Anagnostou, E. N.; Papadopoulos, A.; Borga, M.; Zanon, F.
Performance of rainfall algorithms from mobile X-band dual-polarization radar over complex terrain: result from the 2006-2007 hydrate project
Marios Anagnostou, managnostou@ath.hcmr.gr
EGU2008-A-10522 oral solicited (15 min) - Lanzinger, E.; Leroy, M.; Baker, B.; Vuerich, E.; Stagi, L.; Lanza, L.G.; Ruedi, I.
The WMO Field Intercomparison of Rain Intensity Gauges
Luca G. Lanza, luca.lanza@unige.it
EGU2008-A-11448 oral solicited (15 min) - Thurai, M.; Schoenhuber, M.; Bringi, V.N.; Petersen, W.A.
Rain microstructure information from 2-D video disdrometer
V.N. Bringi, bringi@engr.colostate.edu
 
AS1.10: Dynamics and chemistry of atmospheric moist convection
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-06875 poster - Tost, H. ; JŲckel, P.; Lawrence, M. G.; BrŁhl, C.; Lelieveld, J.
The importance of scavenging and wet deposition in convective clouds
Holger Tost, tost@mpch-mainz.mpg.de
 
AS1.11: Recent developments in Geophysical Fluid Dynamics
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-02222 oral solicited (30 min) - Arakawa, A.; Konor, C.S.
Unification of the anelastic and quasi-hydrostatic systems of equations
Akio Arakawa, aar@atmos.ucla.edu
 
AS1.16: Stratospheric Dynamics and Chemistry
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-03548 oral (15 min) - Fischer, A; BrŲnnimann, S; Rozanov, E
Interannual-to-decadal variability of stratospheric chemistry and climate during the 20th century
Andreas Fischer, andreas.fischer@env.ethz.ch
EGU2008-A-08862 poster - Mikuteit, S.; Blumenstock, T.; Hase, F.; Kramer, I.; Reddmann, T.; Ruhnke, R.; Raffalski, U.
Measured and modeled ozone trends in the northern hemisphere
Sabine Mikuteit, sabine.mikuteit@imk.fzk.de
 
AS2.02: Air-Sea Interactions (General Session) (co-listed in OS)
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-01827 oral solicited (15 min) - Hare, J; COST-735 Management Committee
COST Action 735: Development of air-sea gas and particle flux fields
Jeffrey Hare, jeff.hare@uea.ac.uk
 
AS2.03: Basic Studies on Turbulence in Atmospheric and Oceanic Boundary Layers (General Session)
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-01162 oral solicited (30 min) - Shay, L.
Oceanic impacts on tropical cyclone intensity changes
Lynn Shay, nshay@rsmas.miami.edu
 
AS3.05: Vertical and Long-Range Transport of Trace Gases and Aerosols
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-08055 oral (15 min) - Turquety, S.; Coheur, P.-F.; Clerbaux, C.; Hurtmans, D.; Szopa, S.; Cozic, A.; Ravetta, F.; Real, E.; Tsamalis, C. ; Pelon, J.
Analysis of pollution transport from forest fires in the Mediterranean during the summer of 2007
Solene Turquety, stu@aero.jussieu.fr
 
AS3.10: Modelling, Data-Assimilation and Source-Sink Inversion for operational Atmospheric Composition
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-04839 oral solicited (15 min) - Kaiser, J.W.; The FREEVAL and GEMS fire team
Modelling the Impact of Biomass Burning on atmospheric Aerosol and Greenhouse Gas Abundances
Johannes Kaiser, j.kaiser@ecmwf.int
EGU2008-A-11638 oral solicited (15 min) - Barrie, L.
The Role of Atmospheric Models In An Integrated Global Atmospheric Chemistry Observations System: Highlighting GEMS
Leonard Barrie, lbarrie@wmo.int
 
AS3.12: Megacities: Air Quality and Climate Impacts from Local to Global Scales
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-03014 oral solicited (30 min) - Tsimpidi, A. P.; Karydis, V. A.; Zavala, M. ; Lei, W.; Molina, L. T.; Pandis, S. N.
Air quality in Mexico City: Insights from the combination of field measurements and Chemical Transport Models
Spyros Pandis, spyros@andrew.cmu.edu
EGU2008-A-03073 oral solicited (30 min) - Burrows, J. P.; SCIAMACHY TEAM
Satellite Remote Sensing of Trace Gases and Air Quality Using SCIAMACHY Onboard ENVISAT
Alexander Kokhanovsky, alexk@iup.physik.uni-bremen.de
EGU2008-A-04887 oral solicited (30 min) - Artaxo, P
Air Pollution in Megacities: Sources and Regional/Global Effects
Paulo Artaxo, artaxo@if.usp.br
 
AS3.13: Polar Ozone
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-02267 oral solicited (15 min) - Hofmann, DJ; Johnson, BJ; Oltmans, SJ
The 2007 ozone hole as measured at South Pole Station: any sign of the beginning of recovery?
David Hofmann, David.J.Hofmann@noaa.gov
EGU2008-A-04165 poster - Goutail, F.; The ozone loss team
Total ozone loss during the 2007/08 Arctic winter and comparison to previous years
Florence Goutail, florence.goutail@aerov.jussieu.fr
EGU2008-A-06913 poster - Braathen, G.; 2007 Ozone hole team
The 2007 Antarctic Ozone Hole
Geir O. Braathen, gbraathen@wmo.int
 
AS3.14: Implications of emission, transport, and reaction of atmospheric halogens: I - Boundary Layer and Free Troposphere
Abstract Status Scheduled Contributions (Author(s), Title) Name and Email of Contact
EGU2008-A-10981 Medal Lecture (30 min) - Saiz-Lopez, A.; Boxe, C.S.; Sander, S.P.; Chance, K.; Kurosu, T.P.; Liu, X.; Mahajan, A.; Plane, J.M.C
Iodine chemistry in the polar boundary layer (Outstanding Young Scientist Award Lecture)
Alfonso Saiz-Lopez, alfonso.saiz-lopez@jpl.nasa.gov



Back to Overview A

 
 
 
 


©2002-2008 Copernicus Systems + Technology GmbH