Enter Zoom Webinar


Serving society – furthering science – developing applications: Meet our awardees - part II

This session - in connection with Session PSE3 Serving society – furthering science – developing applications: Meet our awardees - part I on Friday 3 Sep and PSE 11 Silver Medal Ceremony on Thursday 9 Sep - will highlight all the 2021 Awardees of the EMS, Tromp Foundation and Harry Otten Foundation.

Public information:

Harry Otten Prize Ceremony

This Session will give the floor to two EMS Awardees and present live the relevation who will win the Harry Otten Prize 2021. 

  • EMS Outstanding Contribution Awardee 2021: Frank Beyrich, DWD
  • EMS Technology Achievement Awardee 2021: Geert Jan van Oldenborgh, KNMI

Harry Otten Prize Ceremony

  • chaired by Pam Emch, Chair of the Harry Otten Board
  • Harry Otten and the three Finalists: Moritz Mauz, Joshua Soderholm and Kirien Whan.

The three finalists present their ideas in session PSE4 on Monday 6 September 2021.

Conveners: Bert Holtslag, K. Heinke Schluenzen

Activation of the text chat sets a cookie in your browser that is automatically deleted at the end of the conference.

A chat user is typing ...
SHIFT+ENTER for line break
We are sorry but we encountered a problem while running the chat PSE6 . Please reload this browser window. In case this message is shown again after reloading, please contact us at: egu21@copernicus.org. We are sorry for this inconvenience.


Tue, 7 Sep, 16:45–17:15

Chairpersons: Bert Holtslag, K. Heinke Schluenzen, Pamela Emch

Meet the EMS Awardees - part II; Witness the Harry Otten Prize Ceremony


  • Robert Mureau
  • Geert Jan van Oldenborgh, KNMI, Netherlands
  • Sylvain M. Joffre, European Meteorological Society, Finland
  • Frank Beyrich, Deutscher Wetterdienst, Germany
  • Harry Otten, Netherlands
A chat user is typing ...

Supporters & sponsors