Opening Ceremony Programme (Preliminary Programme)

Opening Session, 28 September 2009

10:00 – 11:00 Welcome Addresses, Awards Ceremony and Presidential Lecture

Fritz Neuwirth, EMS President
Jean Jouzel, President SMF
Pirkko Saarikivi, PRIMET Board
Representative, HMEI Council

Awards Ceremony
Presidential Lecture: 10 years EMS
Fritz Neuwirth, EMS President

11:00 – 11:30 Coffee Break

11:30 – 13:00 Strategic Lectures: High resolution services

Chair: Fritz Neuwirth

Michel Jarraud, Secretary-General  WMO
"High resolution services: the  role of WMO"

Adrian Simmons, ECMWF  and MACC-consortium
"Evolution of the GMES Atmospheric Services"

Francois Jacq, President Director General Météo-France

13:00 Lunch